The Starfish Project

The combined effort of our whole family.

Words of Encouragement 11/4/08 – 11/11/08

with 3 comments

happydanceHere is the place to leave your words of encouragment for Julia for the week.  Simply click the word “comment” at the top of this post and you’ll be taken to the comment form.  She loves receiving comments on her blog – so feel free to write to her.  It doesn’t matter if you know her, or if you just found her blog on the internet.  Any and all words of encouragement are welcome.

Written by Tracey

November 4, 2008 at 2:42 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Mom! You rock! I am just so amazed and inspired by your courage and positive attitude through all of this. I know you weren’t feeling well a few days last week, but you still plugged away with your treatments. And, your ordeal at the early polling place for early voting was really incredible. I can’t believe you stood in line for 6 hours to vote!!! Have a great week and I’m sure I’ll see you in the next day or two.

    Tracey

    November 4, 2008 at 4:19 am

  2. Thanks for all the kind words! I really focus on keeping a positive attitude and work on developing a constant attitude of gratitude! And, some days it’s really hard. Fortunately when we voted early, I was having a really great day. Even though it took us 6 hours to vote, I only had to stand in line for about 3-1/2 hrs. and then I got to sit down… thank goodness! They didn’t allow me to cut in line so I gladly awaited my turn in line to vote. It was HOT on that sunny day so I just kept thinking that I was getting lots & lots of Vitamin D. 🙂

    Keith and I met some of the nicest people that day! One was from Illinois and another couple was from Alaska.

    Since we were all “stuck” in line for so long, we all talked and shared parts of our story. When I said, “I was diagnosed with lung cancer on 8/18/08”, everyone’s face changed… the sympathy and pity on their silent faces screamed loudly. So I said, “Hey, I’m not sick… I just have cancer!” After those words sunk in, we all laughed, and then the questions started.

    I met 3 people that day who have cancer and one dear woman whose Uncle has cancer. They had never heard of alternative treatments or that there was real hope for cancer patients, so I handed them some of my Starfish blog cards and then several others, who had been listening to what I said, asked for my blog card.

    I believe this was a devine appointment and we were exactly where we were supposed to be!

    Mom
    a.k.a. Julia, The Starfish

    Julia

    November 5, 2008 at 3:25 am

  3. Julia – I know you through your daughter Tracey – we have had a chance to visit and help each other – my mom received her official lung cancer diagnosis in late November. I keep close tabs on how your are doing – my mom has opted for traditional treatment and it is really hard on her body – I wish we were closer to a clinic like you have. I keep your family in my prayers (and you!) Just wanted to let you know you have new friends from Arkansas and Mississippi that you have never met! Have a good week.
    Bridget

    Bridget Flowers

    March 14, 2009 at 1:03 pm


Leave a Reply

